Posted in Uncategorized, writing tips

Time Managment

First blog post take one:

Book writing is really complicated, some people think that its really easy and only takes a few moments and a few ideas.

But they do not understand the clusterfuck idea of the writing world. But then again, neither do I, but I will soon find out.

As well as writing being a passion for whoever, most people also have to juggle their lifestyles along with finding time to write.

For example, I am still in school/college, I have a part time job, and I am a apart of a very busy, working family. At the moment, my writing time is being taken up with coursework and family and social life. Which is sometimes an annoyance, but also a blessing in disguise.

Even though you want to be a writer, it does not mean that you should sacrifice your social life, or lack of one. It doesn’t mean you should sacrifice doing what you want to do in the moment.

Whoever might be reading this may be in a different position to me, they may be young or old, they may also work a full time job trying to get through the year. And that’s okay.

For me, writing is a way to vent, to release any pent up emotions. If im angry, upset, frustrated, or just stuck inbetween, I write.

Its really hard to juggle multiple things in your life, especiialy while trying to write your first novel or whatever. The key is time management.

What I usually use (during school, home and writing) are to-do lists.

To-Do lists are a godsend, a miracle worker.

With to do lists, you can plan out your day, plans for work, for social moments, the next chapters of your novel, character types or personalities, whatever you want. The choice is yours.

You can use any type of to-do lists you want:

  1. Paper form: Treat yourself to a really nice notebook specifically for to-do lists, as long as you are inspired to do them. Use colours, be superorganised and use time frames, do what ever you want. Just Plan. But do not get stressed out if you end up doing Monday’s list on a Thursday, just make sure you get the jobs done.
  2. Electronic form: If you feel like being modern and having everything on your phone or laptop, I recommend Wunderlist.

wunderlistWunderlist is a free app you can download from any app store or you can use online. This app lets you compose lists, you can make up your own, or you can just add things into your inbox to do, and when its done, you tick it and it vanishes from your inbox. I can literally feel my stress fading away when I tick the square box.

Goodbye Days of Procrastination.

Another tip is writing when you want to write, which sounds repetitive but it really means that if you are not in the right mind-frame to write, or you would rather do anything else, or if you’re ill, then DO NOT WRITE.

You will most likely hate what you produce if you have not got the motivation to do it.

I hope these time managing tips help you, but I am not at a liberty to tell you what to do, so if you have any tips for me or any different ways to manage your time, please share!

I hope that your writing time is no longer a stressful time.

Happy Writing!

 

Author:

I'm a wannabe writer, feminist and support LGBTQA+ rights. I'm into reading, films and being boring. Currently (trying) to write my first book

Leave a Reply

